Twitter has changed the way blocking works on its service, allowing blocked users of public accounts to still follow and read those accounts’ tweets in their timelines.
Here’s the company’s new explanation of what happens when a user is blocked [emphasis added]:
What happens when a user is blocked?
If you block another user, you will no longer see:
- The user in your follower list
- Any updates from that user in your Home timeline, including any of their Tweets that were retweeted by accounts you follow
- Their @replies or mentions in your Connect tab
- Any interactions with that user’s Tweets or account (i.e., favorites, follows or Retweets) in your Interactions or Activity tabs
- You will, however, still see this user’s Tweets appear in Search and if you navigate to their profile page.
Blocked users cannot:
- Add your Twitter account to their lists.
- Have their @replies or mentions show in your mentions tab (although these Tweets may still appear in search).
- Follow you.
- See your profile picture on their profile page or in their timeline.
Read the full story >>